Skip to content

An Introduction to My Blog

August 26, 2013

Hello! I’m Dan, and this is my blog.  Thanks for stopping by! Now, here’s a little bit about me.

I was born in North Carolina and grew up in Damascus, Maryland – a town of about 15,000 people located approximately 30 minutes north of Washington, DC.

I love to travel. I’ve been to 35 of the 50 U.S. states along with two other countries. And, I love sports. I’m an avid fan of the Baltimore Orioles, Washington Redskins and West Virginia Mountaineers. But, this blog won’t be about any of that. Instead, this blog will focus on the different ways in which the news is reported.

As a journalism student at West Virginia University, it is very interesting for me to see how the news is reported. From different outlets and agencies, a different story can be told. An article or broadcast piece can be written and edited to persuade the viewer to think one way or another about a certain topic. And, despite the claims by several of the major television news channels (i.e. CNN, FOX, MSNBC), the reporting is not always balanced.

My posts on this blog will examine topical news stories and how they are covered by different news outlets, and how the story can be changed based upon the content of the piece.

While I am fairly biased in my own political views (which will remain absent from this blog), I will truly offer a balanced view on how the news is covered.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

